Welcome to the “Country profile” page for the Commowealth of Dominica Island nation. Access important information below. For the latest Commowealth of Dominica news, visit our blog.

Country Profile

Country Profile
Official Name:Commonwealth of Dominica 
Short Name:Dominica
Capital City:Roseau
Languages:English, French Patois (“Kwéyòl”)
Currency:Eastern Caribbean Dollar (XCD)
Exchange Rate:USD 1 : XCD 2.7169
Region:Eastern Caribbean
Location:Between the French islands of Guadeloupe to the north and Martinique to the south
Latitude:15˚ 20’ N
Longitude:61˚ 22’ W
Surface Area:751 km2 (289.5 sq mi)
Highest Peak:Morne Diablotin – 1730 m (4,747 ft)
Climate:Humid tropical marine, little seasonal variation between the wet and dry season; high rainfall during the wet season.
Population:69, 625 (2006 estimate)
Ethnic Groups:Black, Mixed, Amerindian (Caribs), White, Others
Religions:Roman Catholic, Seventh Day Adventist, Pentecostal, Methodist, Baptist, Anglican, Other
Political Independence:November 3, 1978 (from United Kingdom)
Political System:Parliamentary Democracy
Head of State:President: His Excellency, The Honourable Charles Savarin (October 1, 2013)
Head of Government:Prime Minister: Honourable Roosevelt Skerrit (January 8, 2004)
Elections:Last General Election – December 8, 2014
Next General Election – Constitutionally due by February 2020